The Fells

The Wainwrights

The Wainwrights are the 214 fells listed by Alfred Wainwright in his seven volume guidebook series ‘A Pictorial Guide to the Lakeland Fells’.

The guides were published between 1955 and 1966 and detail all the major fells together with maps, notes, routes of ascent, sketches and observations, and are considered by many to be works of art in their own right.

They continue to be updated since routes change, new paths are created, gates replace stiles and so on, and Wainwright himself knew they would go out of date eventually. However, the changes which have been made are unobtrusive, the guides remain faithful to the originals which he created, and they continue to be the definitive guide to walking the Lake District fells.

There are, of course, more than 214 fells in the Lake District and why Alfred Wainwright chose these particular ones remains unclear, perhaps because all except one are over 1000′ above sea level.

Whatever his reasons were, climbing all the Wainwrights is on many a fell walker’s ‘to do’ list.

Each guide covers a specific area of The Lake District and if you click on any of the books below you will see details of the fells listed for that particular area.

Book 1
Book 2
Book 3
Book 4
Book 5
Book 6
Book 7